Summer Plans

3 Jul

Apologies, everyone, for the bad weather. At the first hint of summer, I bought myself a sun hat and now look what’s happened. Inevitable really. It could have been worse though, I could have bought a barbecue. We were really lucky that son’s birthday party fell on one of the few sunny days of the year so far (that was pre-hat time) as most of it was spent outside, but I’ll tell you more about that later.

With just a few weeks of nursery left, I thought I’d better start making some plans for the summer. I’m going to need a lot of ideas to fill all the lovely summer days that I am sure are just around the corner. I intend to make this an outdoors summer for my son. Once he starts school in September and the weather turns as we approach winter (turns into what? Is it not bad enough already?), he will be spending more and more time indoors so best we make the most of it while we can.

50things

I thought that a good place to start looking for ideas would be the National Trust’s brilliant campaign to get kids away from the tv and out exploring nature; 50 things to do before you are 11 3/4. After having a good look around their website, I signed son up to help keep track of the activities we complete. We have already done quite a few on the list, but we’re going to start over and see how many we can get through before the end of the summer holidays.

We are also going to be taking inspiration from TheBoyAndMe’s fabulous posts on a Natural Childhood and Country Kids from Coombe Mill. There are so many amazing ideas that are being linked up each week and there’s nothing better than seeing kids outdoors enjoying themselves. I definitely need to make more time for outdoor play and exploring the countryside, whatever the weather.

Oh, and if the weather doesn’t improve soon? I’ll burn my hat.

 

Leave a Reply

