Mum’s Been In The Loft Again

25 Apr

Every so often my mum disappears up into the loft and emerges with some long forgotten treasure. We have already had the pleasure of rediscovering old Duplo blocks and cars, a Fisher-Price aeroplane which was a lot more realistically shaped than the chunky ones you see today, jigsaws and play trays, farm animals and squillions of books.

The latest addition to our collection is this:

I don’t remember if this originally belonged to me or my brother, either way it must be at least 25 years old and is still in perfect condition. Well, apart from the bite mark that my son has just added to one of the cards. We have had loads of fun playing lotto the last couple of days, son got the hang of it pretty quickly and now keeps asking for ‘Grandma’s new puzzle’.

After a few games, I started describing the pictures as just calling out the names was getting too easy. I tried to use descriptions that applied to several pictures so he didn’t guess them straight away but had to work out which picture I was talking about by using several clues.

I love the illustrations on the cards. Maybe it’s just because they remind me of when I was a child, but they seem to make me feel calmer, more relaxed, like everything is simple again. I can see this game being a favourite for a long time to come, I might have to think up some more rules to keep son guessing though!

Do you still have your childhood toys? Do your own children play with them? What do they think of them?

2 Responses to “Mum’s Been In The Loft Again”

  1. Notmyyearoff April 29, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    I still have old Guess Who game at my mums and my 3 year old niece now plays with it and tries to get my 1 year old boy to play with her 🙂

    • ToastingMarshmallows April 29, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

      Aww, it’ll be lovely when they can play together. I had Guess Who too, I wonder when that will appear? x

Leave a Reply

