A Rainy Easter

11 Apr

I had lots of plans for easter, lots of ideas about how I could keep my son entertained. After a week of beautiful weather, visiting the beach and playing outside with no coat on, I was maybe a little too optimistic in making most of those plans outdoors. I don’t know how it was where you were, but here, it rained. I’m usually a bit lame and cancel outdoor things when the weather turns bad, but the thought of a small child running off his energy around the front room (again) was just too much, so I decided we’d have to go out anyway.

We went on a very wet egg hunt at Newham Grange Country Farm. Luckily, we found an egg really quickly so ran back inside to make an easter card and decorate an egg cup. It seems my son wasn’t all that bothered by the rain as he spent most of the afternoon running outside to jump in puddles. Two days later we were back at the farm for an egg decorating competition. As that was an indoor event, obviously, it was sunny. As a bonus, my son conquered his fear of bouncy castles!

The easter trail at Ormesby Hall on Sunday was great fun. Letters were hidden all around the gardens, which had to be rearranged into words to get a chocolate egg prize. As it was our first visit to the gardens, it made it a little more tricky because we didn’t know our way around and found ourselves covering the same paths several times. Don’t tell anyone, but we never found all the letters. We were two short but I took a good guess at what the words were so my son still got his prize. Did I mention it rained?

Following that, we went for an egg hunt and barbecue at my brother’s house. Goes without saying, it rained. We were going to go egg rolling too (does anyone still do that?) but we never quite got around to it.

I was a bit surprised at how much fun we had. The rain didn’t spoil things at all, if anything, it made us laugh more at how wet we were getting. I’ll have to remember that next time I try to put something off because of the rubbish weather.

What did you get up to over easter? Did you eat too much chocolate? Whatever you did, I hope you had fun.

Country Kids from Coombe Mill Family Farm Holidays Cornwall

4 Responses to “A Rainy Easter”

  1. Coombemill - Fiona April 11, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    I think it is us parents that are affected by the weather much more than the children. Mine are just the same and are happy to go out regardless, it is only me who is less keen! Thank you for sharing your wet but fun Easter with Country Kids

    • toasty April 12, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

      Definitely! I had totally forgotten that even as a baby he loved the rain. Used to have to stand at the open front door for ages with him when it rained.

  2. spam March 11, 2013 at 8:21 am #

    I am really loving the theme/design of your site.

    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?

    A couple of my blog audience have complained about my website not working correctly
    in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do
    you have any tips to help fix this problem?

    • ToastingMarshmallows March 25, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

      Thank you.
      No, not that I’m aware of.
      Have you tried turning it off and back on again?

Leave a Reply

