All Change

4 Apr

This is the end of the line, this blog terminates here. All change please for uncertainty, panic and self hosted.

*                    *                    *

For a while now, I haven’t been entirely happy with my blog. I couldn’t get it to look the way I wanted and I couldn’t get the pages set up how I would like. I know it probably sounds silly but because I didn’t like how it looked, I was reluctant to add new content even though I had lots that I wanted to say. A few weeks ago, I spent far too long mucking about with the theme and layout until I found something I was happier with. Still not right, but better.

Then I thought about the name. When I first set my blog up, I had no idea how it worked. It didn’t take long for me to get annoyed at the fact my blog name and URL didn’t match and there wasn’t a great deal I could do about it if I wanted to retain all my links. Unless I wanted to rename the blog to match the URL. I didn’t. So about a week ago I changed them both to something new and started the enormous task of updating all the profiles and pages that linked to the old one.

Even as I was changing everything over, I still wasn’t happy. The thought of self hosting kept popping into my head, but was immediately dismissed as being too difficult, too expensive, too scary. Plus I’d lose all my links and have to update my profile everywhere and… oh… right. Perhaps that was just the kick up the backside I needed. If I was going to start over, might as well do it properly. I bought a domain. I bought some hosting. I had a panic (that was free) although it is now subsiding, mostly thanks to this post by TheBoyAndMe, her encouragement and promises of how much I’ll love it.

At the moment, I am in the middle of moving everything over to the new place. I’m still doing the decorating so, if you’re on your way over, you’d better bring a paintbrush with you. Once I’ve properly moved in I’d love it if you would pop over and have a mooch around. I might even throw a blogwarming party with jelly and cake and everything.

This is my new address!

The last thing I wanted to say here was thank you. To all the people who have visited, for all the lovely comments and for making me smile, I’d like to give you all a great big hug. You’ll probably never know how much it has all meant to me. Thank you. I hope to see you all again soon.

2 Responses to “All Change”

  1. The Boy and Me (@TheBoyandMe) April 4, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Hurah! You have made the right decision! Thanks for the mention

Leave a Reply

