2011 – Turned Out Brilliant In The End

11 Jan

Here we are again, the start of another year. Around this time last year, I wrote this post about ‘my decision to make 2011 blooming brilliant’. I followed it up with a post about why I no longer make new year’s resolutions, and a list of goals to complete in the next 1001 days.

Looking back over the year, my head and my heart don’t seem to be able to agree on how the year turned out. My heart feels like I could simply copy and paste that first post here, just giving the years a +1. My heart feels like nothing has changed, I have failed, last year was not brilliant. My heart feels sad.

My head, however, can see things quite differently. I don’t mean the part of my head that worries, that tries to find solutions to the impossible or goes over what might have happened if I’d done things differently. I mean the logical part of my head, the part that can step back and look from another point of view. The part that tells me to forget all the crap for a minute and look at all the things that I did do. The places we visited, the things I achieved, the fun that we had.

I have completed eight goals off my Day Zero list and made progress on at least twenty eight others. I have learnt to swim. I have carved most of a rocking horse. I have gained a little confidence in my photography and got myself a nice digital SLR. I took my son on his first trip to the theatre and to his first festival. We ate home grown tomatoes in the sunshine. We went puddle jumping in the rain. We raised £130 for Tommy’s doing our swimming lesson in pyjamas. I met up with old friends.

If I looked through all my photo’s I could list a whole page of things we did that were fun, so why is it that the year feels as if it didn’t go well? If someone asks me, ‘How was your week?’, why is it that all the bad things spring to mind first? Why not the good things that we’ve done? So that’s what I’m going to concentrate on this year. Remembering the good and trying not to dwell on the bad.

Regular readers will recognise these pictures, but here’s a gallery of some of the things we did in 2011.

2 Responses to “2011 – Turned Out Brilliant In The End”

  1. dichotomyof January 15, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    I liked this post a lot and I don’t think you’re alone. Why does the bad stuff, the things I’ve failed at/to do lodge at the front? It’s one of the reasons I’ve liked blogging so much, seeing a record of the happy things. I didn’t make New Years resolutions either, well one kind of, to keep plugging away at the old ones. Curbing my inner negative voice and noticing the Beautiful Things. Here’s to a happy 2012 x

  2. sarsm March 26, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    I think changes in circumstances and situations make some of the goals we set ourselves really difficult or even impossible to keep. I think too, at the start we don’t know what is actually achievable and can set some goals too high or even too easy.

    You’re right to look at what you have achieved. I think it’s really good that you have a financial reward for yourself on your list so you feel good about what you do achieve. For each task you achieve you are a success, because it’s something that you wanted to do and you actually did it!! So bravo!!

Leave a Reply

