Half Term Fun – Monday

31 Oct

I tried to make this week as much fun as possible for my son and I, as I knew the days that followed were going to be difficult to say the least. I was not wrong, but that’s a whole other story. I had a list of places I wanted to visit, mostly leftovers from what I didn’t do in the summer, which all remained on my to-do list as my plans went out the window.

On Monday, we did not have a picnic in the woods, we went on a trip to Flamingo Land with one of my friends and her little boy. Normally I would need to plan well in advance for a day out like this, but on Sunday I saw that Star Radio had an offer on for a family ticket for £30. Our kids are still young enough to get in for free, but as one adult ticket is usually £27, this was still an offer too good to miss.

The sun was shining and we didn’t have to queue anywhere for more than ten minutes – practically a miracle. We saw a great selection of animals; we were face to face with tigers (literally – just a sheet of glass between us), other favourites were rhino’s (son’s new favourite animal) and the sea lions.

I had wondered if there would be enough to keep a couple of 2 1/2 year old boys amused as they wouldn’t be able to go on any of the big rides, but I needn’t have worried as there was plenty for them to do. In fact, we are going to have to go back again as there was still more to see.

We travelled around the park by train and monorail, we had a go on the balloons, tractors and helicopters. We went on the galloping horses and the boys got their first taste of a (children’s) rollercoaster. I guess they are both going to grow up loving the big rides as we had to drag them off to screams of “Nooooo! Again! Again!”

We all had a much needed dose of fun and spent most of the day laughing. It was one of the best days out I’ve had in a long time and I can’t wait to go back. Sadly, the park is now closed for the winter so I will have to wait until it reopens in April.

5 Responses to “Half Term Fun – Monday”

  1. janeblackmore October 31, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    I used to love Flamingo Land!

    glad you had fun x

    • octarinefire October 31, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 It’s over 20 years since I was last there, changed completely x

  2. Muminator November 11, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    Nice Pictures! That looks like fun 🙂 I’ve been thinking about taking my little boy to Flamingo Land, I’m sure he’d love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Half Term Fun – Tuesday « Things 'n' Stuff - November 2, 2011

    […] had a great time so this was pencilled straight in the diary. After a very long and busy day on Monday, we almost didn’t make it out of the house. I’m so glad we did though as it was even […]

Leave a Reply

