Giddyup Horsey

17 Oct

How lovely to have such a sunny weekend in the middle of October. The sky was clear blue and it seemed warmer than it had been for most of the summer. Sunday afternoon was spent on the beach; picking through rockpools, making the biggest splashes, building castles and digging for treasure.

This unexpected sunshine was lucky for me as Saturday was the only chance I’ve had this week to work on WD Horsey. It’s much easier to take him outside, rather than trying to squeeze by him in the hallway. I am still calling him ‘him’, even though I think he looks more like a her. Is there such a thing as a ladyhorse? Well that’s what he is whether he likes it or not.

I have mixed feelings about WDH right now. I love how he’s taking shape and I’m amazed that I have actually made it this far. I’ve always said that he’ll be ready when he’s ready and I’m not going to rush it and muck it up. However, as Christmas is fast approaching, so is a wave of sadness that he won’t be ready in time.

I already have in my mind exactly how Christmas morning should be, I didn’t plan it, it just sort of formulated and stuck there. It most definitely includes a horse. It just wouldn’t be quite the same giving a horse for, say, Easter. I suppose I could put a bonnet on him or some of those bunny ears on a headband…

Anyway, I’ve had loads of people asking how he’s coming along. You three know who you are and these photo’s are for you.

6 Responses to “Giddyup Horsey”

  1. helloitsgemma October 18, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

    Gosh -he’s beautiful – how talented are you!

    • ToastingMarshmallows October 20, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

      Thank you, I think the real talent lies with the people who are teaching me though πŸ™‚

  2. dichotomyof October 19, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    I am awestruck – really. He’s (or she, could very well be a ladyhorse..like Brown Bess, Turpins faithful steed.) Beautiful. Look at the teeth! Just beautiful. I can’t imagine ever being able to make this – just having the vision to launch into something so big…and carved as well. You could wheel this out on a rainy tuesday and it would be an amazing occasion that you would remember forever from your childhood. I may be a tad jealous! I know what you mean about wanting it to fall into place for Christmas perfection but it’s so worth taking your time with – you’re making an heirloom! πŸ™‚

    • ToastingMarshmallows October 20, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

      Aww, you’re making me blush! If I’d realised what I was letting myself in for I probably wouldn’t have signed up. Now I’ve started though, I’m really enjoying it. Even a few weeks in I still couldn’t really imagine me finishing it, but look how far it’s come. It’s surprising what you can do if you don’t stop to think about it πŸ˜‰

  3. lifeloveandlivingwithboys February 13, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    OMG! That’s amazing! I can draw and have made clay sculptures but would have NO clue where to start with making a rocking horse. It’s so lovely that your son will be able to enjoy it too.

    • Toasting Marshmallows February 17, 2012 at 10:48 am #

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I had no clue either, never really made anything out of wood before. I’ve surprised myself with this one! x

Leave a Reply

