Goodbye Summer

10 Sep

So it appears that Summer has come to a rather abrupt end, even though there only seemed to be about three days of it anyway. I thought the weather was supposed to be brilliant the first week of September, that’s how I remember it from when I was a kid. Rubbish at the end of the holiday then glorious sunshine while I was stuck in a classroom, daydreaming into a clear blue sky and wishing the holidays lasted just one more week.

I had loads of plans for this summer but, as best-laid plans often do, they went a bit awry. Illness and the weather were probably the main reasons (or excuses) as to why I didn’t do all the things I had planned. Add to that the fact that whoever keeps the world ticking over appears to have over-wound it and time is now going far too fast, what chance did I have fitting it all in?

As I look back over my list, I feel like I’ve failed. Places I didn’t visit, events I didn’t attend; I have a summer of things crossed out and I don’t like it. This year was supposed to be blooming brilliant but I’m letting other people get the better of me again and it’s dragging me down. I dwell on the bad things until they cast such big shadows that I can’t see the good things anymore.

Yes, there were lots of things we didn’t get around to doing but, thinking about it, we still had some fantastic days out and made the most of the good days. It’s just difficult trying to remember that when I spend so much time worrying about everything else.

But we did have a good summer, and I have the photo’s to prove it 🙂

3 Responses to “Goodbye Summer”

  1. Lakes Mum September 11, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    wow that’s one fun looking summer!

    • octarinefire September 11, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I didn’t realise how much we had done until I started looking through the photo’s!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mummy Bloggers enjoy time with their kids - for free! | Really Kid Friendly - September 16, 2011

    […] filled with missed opportunities and not much else. Looking at her gallery of photos of all the wonderful experiences and days out she spent with her sweet little boy, we beg to differ.Caroline from Lunchbox World’s attempt to celebrate National Cupcake Day while […]

Leave a Reply

