The Gallery – Green

28 Apr

After a tough couple of weeks, Tara decided to go easy on us and give us a nice simple task. This week, the theme is Green. Brilliant! All I need to do is open the window, snap a quick picture of some grass, job done. Except, for me, it’s not quite as simple as that. That would feel like cheating. So, after spending the last two weeks grumping about how difficult the themes are, I then spend the next week trying to make the easy theme more complicated. Then again, you always knew that I was a bit weird, right?

What to do then? I started to think of our wonderfully colourful language and all the different ways the word green is used. Green-eyed monster, green around the gills, not so green as I’m cabbage looking and green with envy are all common phrases, perhaps I could choose one of them? How about green issues relating to the environment?

I let the thoughts bounce around my head until a couple of days ago, when the perfect opportunity presented itself. For the Gallery this week, I would like to show you my son’s Green Fingers. I’ve had these little seed kits sitting in the kitchen for a couple of weeks and I thought it was about time we got them planted.

We had sunflower, tomato and pumpkin seeds to plant. I did my best trying to explain to my son what we were doing, he seemed to get the general idea and keeps talking about eating his tomatoes so I’m keeping fingers crossed that they grow. I’m really pleased with the time he took over each step, he concentrated so hard to get it right and looked so proud at the end of it.

Pouring the water onto the ‘magic’ compost to make it grow:

 

Breaking the compost up with a fork to get it ready for the seeds:

 

Planting the seeds, this one is pumpkin:

 

Giving the seeds a little drink of water:

 

Lids on, all done and off to play:

Now all we need is lots of sunshine, is that too much to ask?

For more green things, pop over to Sticky Fingers to see the green Gallery.

6 Responses to “The Gallery – Green”

  1. Elaine Livingstone April 28, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    hope you all enjoy eating them

    • octarinefire April 30, 2011 at 12:07 am #

      Thanks 🙂 Last year I killed them so I’m just hoping we do a little better this time x

  2. Susan Mann May 1, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    We are growing one of these the strawberry ones. Good luck x

    • octarinefire May 2, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      I killed some strawberries last year, my brother’s were lovely though. Let me know how they turn out x

  3. Kirsty May 2, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Hahaha, we did just the same with the strawberry pot but it was a nightmare, ‘pour the water on slowly’ turned into ‘drown the thing’! Probably easier when you don’t have a baby trying to join in? 🙂

    • octarinefire May 2, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

      Yeah, first one flooded the table. The other two I only put the tiniest amount of water in the pot each time for him to pour 🙂

Leave a Reply

