The Gallery – My Blog

21 Apr

Last week, Tara Cain asked us to do what seemed like the impossible and photograph Tomorrow. It’s a good job she promised us a nice easy one this week as I don’t think my brain could cope with another one as tough as that. So this week we have ‘My Blog’… whaaaat?? I must still have sleep in my eyes because for a minute there I thought she’d asked us to post ‘a photo which sums up your blog’. Oh. Right.

Late on Tuesday night I was ready to give up on this one. I’d been staring at the screen for ages and I had nothing. Not a clue. Then little’n woke up and I had no chance of getting anything written, so I lay down with him while he went back to sleep. It seems that as soon as I gave up on doing a post an idea came right to me. I just had no chance of getting it written in time. I took a photo this morning but it’s now nearly midnight and I’ve only just been able to sit down to write.

When I first thought about starting a blog, I wanted a record of my pregnancy, birth, and my baby growing up. I wanted to share my experiences and read about others. As things got steadily worse with the wally, I felt like I couldn’t share my life on the internet. I had to hide away and I still do. There are so many things that I want to write about, but I’m way too paranoid about what could happen if someone I know in real life read them. I constantly censor myself and I hate having to do it. I struggle with trying to stay anonymous when I really want to say ‘hello, this is me’.

At the moment, my blog mostly consists of The Gallery and Silent Sunday posts. Apart from the fact I hardly have time to keep up with these let alone anything else, if I’m busy posting them it’s putting off talking about the big stuff. The scary stuff that I’m trying to avoid. The stuff that makes me want to hit delete on my entire blog, just incase.

My blog. Snippets of my life as seen from my hiding place behind the camera. Or, as is usual, mobile phone.

 

6 Responses to “The Gallery – My Blog”

  1. Mañana Mama April 21, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    I love the picture – and great post to go with it. So difficult, treading a fine line between honesty and privacy – I struggle with that too.
    ~M

    • octarinefire April 21, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      Thank you, it is very difficult to know where to draw that line sometimes x

  2. Dawnie April 21, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Great photo! It’s always tough having to decide whether to post something or not isn’t it. I sometimes wish I was anonymous so I could say what I really want to

    • octarinefire April 21, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Thank you! I’m afraid that if I’m not sure I always opt for ‘not’, which usually means that lots of things get written and then promptly deleted. Being anonymous is a lot harder than you think! x

  3. Becky April 21, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    nice shot – must try that myself 😉

    • octarinefire April 21, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I spent far too long trying to get my ‘eye’ in the right place. Probably should have cleaned the sticky finger marks off the mirror too x

Leave a Reply

