The Gallery – Mother Love

7 Apr

Here in the UK, it was Mother’s Day on Sunday, so this week the Gallery theme was, quite simply, Mother Love. Tara has also dedicated this Gallery to World Vision’s Mother’s Day campaign. Share a smile: Make a mother’s day invites you to share a mum-moment that makes you smile, perhaps a memory from your childhood, or a special experience with your own children. This will feature in their Mother’s Day gallery and also add your name to their global petition, asking governments to put mothers and children’s health first.

That’s the important stuff out of the way so on to my ramblings. I think the one thing that makes me feel most like a mother is when I’m breastfeeding my son. There really is nothing quite like it; two little eyes gazing up at you, tiny fingers curling round your hair, not so little teeth getting a bit close for comfort and knowing that you are providing nourishment, comfort, warmth and love. What could be better?

It has been a blessing these last few days too. While he has been ill he wouldn’t eat anything, barely drank anything, but continues to breastfeed. I don’t think he would have got through it quite so easily without his mammy milk.

Even though it is sometimes really hard and painful and exhausting, the love keeps me going. That, and moments like this:

There are lots of yummy mummy pictures over at Sticky Fingers, why not share some of that Mother Love?

4 Responses to “The Gallery – Mother Love”

  1. LinsLleisio April 8, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    I remember breastfeeding, it was so special. Luckily I was in a cottage hospital and they let me stay in a couple of extra days so G9 and I could get the hang of it. After that there was no looking back. Truly beautiful photograph.

    • octarinefire April 9, 2011 at 1:18 am #

      Thank you. Lovely to hear of a positive story. Within hours of my son being born they were threatening formula but I refused. He just took a while to get started but he’s nearly two now and still going strong! x

  2. Kirsty April 11, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    What a brilliant photo, and good on you for posting it on the blog! I’ve taken many of those myself over the last couple of years. Today I was feeding the baby, and my toddler came over and gave him a kiss, we were all laughing – it was just the best moment ever. 🙂

    • octarinefire April 13, 2011 at 1:10 am #

      Thank you, it’s one of my favourites. Aww, that is a wonderful moment and one that will stick in your mind for a long time to come x

Leave a Reply

