The Gallery – Hair

30 Mar

When you have a baby, there are lots of ‘firsts’ to look forward to; first smile, first word, first steps… the list goes on. However, there are also some ‘firsts’ that are not so good and, for me, this was one of them. I had to take my baby boy (“No mam, big boy”) for his first haircut.

I wanted to keep his first curl so I cut that off myself. He had another lovely curl at the other side so I cut that one off for Grandma. That just left the bit in the middle so I cut that off to even it up a bit. So when I say I had to take him, I really did have to. Before anyone else saw what I’d done to his beautiful hair.

The experience itself was lovely. The girl who cut his hair was great with him and he was so well behaved that the certificate he got for his first haircut was well deserved. We were also given a little packet of the clippings to keep.

But oh, the difference it made to his face. My baby boy wasn’t a baby anymore. I was gutted. I did not cry (much). In the space of five minutes he looked like he had aged five years and turned into a proper little boy.

“No mam, big boy”

For more weird and wonderful hairy posts, click on the badge and see who has linked up with Sticky Fingers this week.

8 Responses to “The Gallery – Hair”

  1. mummy D March 30, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    🙂 i LOVED this post.You write beautifully

    • octarinefire March 30, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      Thank you, really nice of you to say so x

  2. janeblackmore March 30, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    great take on the theme; fab picture

  3. Sarah @Sarh March 30, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    aww that made me a little bit sad lol.

  4. Livi March 30, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    awww! that’s heart breaking!

  5. tiddlyompompom March 31, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    we kept some of big m’s first curls when she had her hair cut. fortunately it grew back curly 🙂

Leave a Reply

