Personal Challenge: March

5 Mar

Is it March already? How did that happen? I thought I would have a fairly impressive list of achievements by now, but my only real achievement is that I have not completely abandoned my Day Zero list. I know I still have ages to go, but it is a big list and if life keeps whizzing by as quickly as it has been then I will run out of time. I also know that when I start thinking like this (so much to do, so little time) then I am in danger of hitting the panic button and giving up completely. I had started out so positively aswell.

Just as I start thinking that maybe doing the Day Zero list wasn’t such a good idea, the lovely tiddlyompompom pointed me in the direction of this:  

tiddlyompompom

This is a great way of splitting my big scary list down into more manageable chunks. Over at her blog, she sets a personal challenge each month and invites you to do the same, then leave a link back to your own blog post. She also offers these words of advice, “make sure it is something you can actually achieve in a month. Be SMART (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, Time-based)”.

Now, as I only have to think about one month, it doesn’t seem like such a daunting task. Here we go then. This is my personal challenge for March:

  1. Make and decorate cakes for the two family birthdays this month
  2. Finish reading one of the books I have started
  3. Get my fiddle and guitar out and make some music
  4. Get all the bits I need to start learning to crochet

I know I could do all of these in a day if I wanted to, well, if my toddler would let me. This is my first month though, so I’m making it easy. I don’t want to set myself up for a fail, I want to meet all my goals and feel confident to set harder ones next month. I’ll be back in a few weeks to let you know how well I’ve done!

If you have set yourself a goal or two this month, why not blog about it then click on the badge and join in?

3 Responses to “Personal Challenge: March”

  1. A Sceptical Medium March 5, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Number three sounds like great fun. I love a fiddle. You must tape some and let us hear what you do.
    Two birthdays huh? We have four. My dad 8th, me 11th, niece 14th, sister 16th! Expensive month.
    Let us know if we can listen to some of your music.

    • octarinefire March 8, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

      Four? Ouch!

      It has been a long time since I really played, probably getting on for three years now. I’m sure it will be a while before I can even think about recording any but, when I do, I will post a tune on here. x

  2. tiddlyompompom March 17, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    thanks for joining in! these look like very good goals for the month. I especially like the cake one 🙂

Leave a Reply

