First Goal Completed

16 Jan

I’ve never really been any good with new year’s resolutions. I always start with the best of intentions but one by one they all get broken. A little bit of forgetfulness here, a little bit of cheating there, an excuse, a reason… Perhaps the reason I’m so bad at these resolutions is that they are rarely fun. They are not usually made up of things that I want to do, more like things I feel I should do. I should eat more healthily, I should eat less chocolate, I should do more exercise, I should give this up, I should do more of that, blah, blah, blah, I’m bored just thinking about it.

Still, as the new year approached, I found myself thinking about resolutions again. My priorities are a bit different this year though. None of that stuff really matters, I just want to be happy. I want to go out and make proper fun memories of good times instead of dwelling on all the bad stuff. I know there are going to be bad days that I can do nothing about, but what about all the days in between? They could all be good days, couldn’t they? They could even be brilliant days!

There could not have been a better time for me to stumble upon the Day Zero Project. I don’t remember where I first saw it mentioned, I just know that I was randomly clicking around the internet, looking at all kinds of things to distract from the fact that I was trying to write this blog post, and I knew immediately that it was for me. It was exactly what I didn’t know I was looking for at exactly the right time. Lucky, huh? After a quick search I found out that there are thousands of people creating these lists of goals. Not just boring old resolutions, but fun things, weird things, exciting things, things that always get put off because there is something more important to do.

It’s taken me two weeks but I’ve finally finished my list of 101 goals. That’s already longer than my resolutions usually last and (as of 14th January) my first goal is complete. You may think it’s cheating slightly to make creating the list one of the goals but, believe me, it’s harder than you think. How often do you sit down and have a good think about yourself? The things you enjoy doing but never seem to have the time for, things you would like to do but have never tried, things that you’ll do ‘one day’.

I was quite nervous about posting my list. It says a lot about who I really am, which is something I don’t like to talk about. It also makes this challenge very real and there can be no backing out now that you all know about it. While I am excited about the things I will be doing over the next couple of years, I can’t help think that I might just be a bit crazy and should probably be doing something a bit more sensible with my time. There’s that word again. Should. Ugh.

I would really appreciate any comments you have, and if you already have a list or decide to make one then please leave a link to it. I’d love to know how you’re getting on with yours.

4 Responses to “First Goal Completed”

  1. wedding cake accessories October 15, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    Just running in to let you know you have a brand new fan!
    Reading one post on your site got me hooked without
    delay. Really, you are amazing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention First Goal Completed « Things 'n' Stuff -- Topsy.com - January 16, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by ., .. . said: First Goal Completed: http://wp.me/p11wzj-2A […]

  2. 2011 – Turned Out Brilliant In The End « Things 'n' Stuff - January 11, 2012

    […] about ‘my decision to make 2011 blooming brilliant’. I followed it up with a post about why I no longer make new year’s resolutions, and a list of goals to complete in the next 1001 […]

  3. 2011 – Turned Out Brilliant In The End « Toasting Marshmallows - April 3, 2012

    […] about ‘my decision to make 2011 blooming brilliant’. I followed it up with a post about why I no longer make new year’s resolutions, and a list of goals to complete in the next 1001 […]

Leave a Reply

