Rocking Horse or Wonky Donkey?

12 Jan

Ever get that feeling that maybe you’ve been a little over enthusiastic and set your goals too high? Like way up in space somewhere? I want the moon on a stick and I think that might be easier to achieve than what I have actually planned.

I don’t know what I was thinking when I decided to make a rocking horse. I suppose I thought that it would be quite small and angular. Cut a horse shape out of wood, stick a rocker on the bottom, give it a lick of paint, job done. Right? Oh no, couldn’t be more wrong. The rocking horse I will (ahem) be making is amazing, it is beautiful, a real work of art.

I am starting to panic. I have seen planks of wood, I have seen a finished horse. My brain is struggling to cope with the fact that, using some kind of wizardry, the wood will become the horse and I am going to have to make that happen. I don’t even have any tools yet.

So, just letting you know before I start, this is probably going to be a bit rubbish but I will take photos and blog it anyway. It may end up looking more like a cow. Or an alien. It will probably only have half an ear on one side and it will most definitely not be symmetrical. There is a good chance it will rock before I even get the rockers on and one of its legs may be held together with a bit of sticky tape.

However it turns out, I’m sure it will provide a few giggles along the way and I can’t wait to see my completed wonky donkey.

Leave a Reply

