How Do You Doodle?

30 Nov

If there was ever an excuse needed to show off my son’s latest masterpiece then this is it. Mummy’s Little Monkey would like to know ‘How Do You Doodle?’ for the chance to win some Feel Good Drinks. If you’re quick there is still time to enter but don’t forget to come back here and leave me a comment too!

My son loves to paint. He chooses his own paints and asks for a clean brush when he wants to change colour. He dips the brush carefully into the pots and takes his time making marks on the paper. He even stops to admire his work before continuing with the next bit.

I’d like to share with you a couple of my favourite pictures of his. Perhaps it’s just because I’m his mum and I want to see something fabulous in everything that he does, but these just stand out to me.

The first one was painted just before his first birthday. It was his first completely unassisted painting. It is, quite clearly, a mouse in a boat. Do you see it? Look, it’s even smiling!

This one was painted around bonfire night when he was 17 months old. I’m sure he intended it to be a phoenix rising from the fire. Granny insists it is a flamenco dancer. I think she’s been watching too much Strictly Come Dancing.

So, what do you think? Do you see things in your child’s paintings that nobody else can? Do people think you’re a bit mad when you try and explain that it really is a mouse in a boat? I’d love to know what you see in these pictures, please leave a comment and let me know and feel free to link to your child’s latest masterpiece.

3 Responses to “How Do You Doodle?”

  1. Mummy's Little Monkey (@Jax2000) November 30, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    LOL!!! Can see the Phoenix, for sure! Not so convinced about the Mouse in a Boat though… 🙂

  2. notestoselfplustwo December 14, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    lol, definately a dance thing going on … btw, my blog has moved to http://www.notestoselfplustwo.com – hate to lose you as a reader. I have added you to my new sexy blog roll.

    Little comp for those that re-subscribe and make me feel less lonely on my new url 😉

    Happy Christmas x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention How Do You Doodle? « Things 'n' Stuff -- Topsy.com - November 30, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by ., .. . said: How Do You Doodle?: http://wp.me/p11wzj-2t […]

Leave a Reply

