Review – CBeebies – Song Time

23 Nov

I don’t know about you, but I’m finding it very difficult to find children’s cd’s that rock. I have a pile that have been listened to once and have no hope of being allowed into the same room as a cd player ever again, they really are that bad. A few weeks ago, we were treated to the new ZingZillas album. That rocked. After about six weeks of ZingZillas on repeat it still rocks, but there must be something else that my son will enjoy that’s not too painful for adults to listen to as well.

It would seem that Louise from Rock and Roll Baby World has come to the rescue once again, this time asking if I would like to review a copy of the new CBeebies Song Time album. Fifty fabulous tracks on two cd’s from our favourite children’s channel. That should keep the little fella busy for a while.

I thought I’d give my son a little surprise with the new cd so I put it in the cd player without him seeing. When he started saying ‘sic sic’ (that’s his way of asking for music, by the way, he was not about to throw up) I pressed play. The opening track on the first cd is ZingZillas, just what he was expecting to hear, so he started his usual wiggling and jiggling to the music.

Track two, Lazy Town. What??? He just stopped and stared at me. Oh no! Should I have warned him that the music would be different? Had I just shattered his little world of monkeys and Big Zings? He stood there for what seemed like an hour then started to smile. With a big ‘eeeeeeee’ he was off again, running around and dancing. Phew!

We had a lot of fun listening to the new album, joining in with the songs we knew and just dancing to the ones we didn’t know. Many of the tracks are theme tunes so we played guess the show and we signed along to both songs from Something Special. Other favourites were Space Pirates, Bob the Builder, Show Me Show Me, Tweenies and Balamory. I’m also quite pleased that the album includes Grandpa in my Pocket as it doesn’t matter how fast asleep my son is, he is certain to wake up at the slightest hint of that show. It’s like his own personal alarm clock. I only hope it still works in a couple of years time when we have to get up for school.

I think this album is great for keeping children entertained and will be a firm favourite in our house for a long time to come.

CBeebies Song Time is available from 22nd November through Play.com and other good retailers.

One Response to “Review – CBeebies – Song Time”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Review – CBeebies – Song Time « Things 'n' Stuff -- Topsy.com - November 23, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by ., .. . said: Review – CBeebies – Song Time: http://wp.me/p11wzj-2j […]

Leave a Reply

